Organizing Phase One – Naming and Filing Scanned Documents

It’s hard to believe that it’s already spring break time.  And with that said I have challenged myself to finally start some organizing.  I bought a portable scanner a few years ago that I love.  I have used it pretty consistently and have more than a few hundred documents, photos, and funeral programs that need to be named and organized on my laptop.  I know this sounds really bad.  But believe me, the reality of it is much worse.  I know that if I write about it I will be more likely to hold myself accountable for getting this done.

Sometimes genealogy isn’t just about research.  There are times when you have to make time to organize what you have already found.  We are taking a trip to Dallas during spring break this weekend.  My plan is to take my laptop with me on our trip to Dallas and work on naming the scans on the ride there and back.  Now Dallas is a five-hour one-way trip, and I plan to use at least half of that time each way organizing my laptop files.  Wish me luck!!!

9 thoughts on “Organizing Phase One – Naming and Filing Scanned Documents

Add yours

  1. Sounds like good organisation, I’m going to need it as we visit Cornwall parishes for a week next month. But ….. isn’t an iPhone just as good and more convenient for recording documents as you go? I need to know.

    Like

    1. For me it’s easier to scan documents to my computer that way I don’t have to transfer them from my phone to my computer. And I have my computer backed up incase of a virus or someother technical issue, so I know my documents will be safe. I do take pictures with my phone when I’m not allowed to use my scanner sometimes. But in most cases I will print the record and scan it when I get home. You just have to find what works best for you and your oranization style. Thanks for reading!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, if I photograph something it is immediately transferred to iCloud and stored. That means I can now see and access it on my iPad and laptop. As we are travelling next month it seems the easiest and safest?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑